The Third Wife by Lisa Jewell – Audiobook Online

The Third Wife is a novel written by Lisa Jewell, a British author known for her contemporary fiction. The book was published in 2014 and tells the story of a woman named Adrian Wolfe and the mysterious circumstances surrounding the death of his third wife, Maya.

The narrative unfolds through multiple perspectives, primarily focusing on Adrian, his two ex-wives, and their children. The story is set in London and alternates between the present day and flashbacks to the past, gradually revealing the complex relationships and secrets that bind these characters together.

Adrian Wolfe is a successful businessman who has been married three times. His first wife, Susie, was his high school sweetheart, and they had two daughters together. However, their marriage ended in divorce due to Adrian’s infidelity. His second wife, Caroline, was a glamorous model who struggled with addiction issues. They had one son before their marriage also fell apart.

The central plot of the novel revolves around Maya, Adrian’s third wife. She is a much younger woman who captures Adrian’s heart after they meet at a party. Maya is portrayed as vibrant and free-spirited, bringing joy into Adrian’s life. However, her sudden death leaves everyone shocked and devastated.

As the story progresses, it becomes clear that Maya’s death was not accidental but rather a result of foul play. The investigation into her death uncovers a web of lies, deceit, and hidden motives among the characters. Each ex-wife has their own reasons to suspect foul play and becomes entangled in the search for the truth.

Throughout the book, Jewell explores themes of love, loss, betrayal, and family dynamics. She delves into the complexities of relationships and how past experiences can shape one’s perception of love and trust. The characters are well-developed and flawed, making them relatable to readers.

In the early morning hours of summer, a young woman stepped into the driveway of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or commit suicide? At the heart of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grieving widower who, a year after the death of his third wife, sets out to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, unsettling secrets begin to emerge.

His divorce from two previous wives was amicable, or so it seemed; His children, all five, were as resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya to the brink.

Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by this gripping family drama with a dark mystery at its core.

“Third Wife” is a look at what life should be like. it’s both incredibly realistic, in its dialogue, action, and reactions, and truly unbelievable, in its incredibly hopeful ending. I love it. I am a Lisa Jewell fan. I also enjoy reading Joe Jameson’s books. He really helps Helen Duff make money.

I started reading this book and didn’t dive into it right away, I even listened to another one before coming back to it. However, it just keeps getting better and I think the narrator did a great job retelling so many different characters and I will definitely hear him read more.

I really like Lisa Jewell’s books, this is the second novel here that I have heard and both are very different but both are similar in that they show how dysfunctional families can be and very current with mental health as well as people’s perception.

I’m glad she has more books because I will pick the next book for my wish list

I love the overall of the book. good performance and the change in tone works well. There are times when I need to play again because I’m lost in the mundane world but that happens very rarely. Completed in 3 days with no more than 2 for an LJ book.

I almost gave up on this but I’m glad I gave it a second chance. Lisa is a master at writing about real life, real people, family dynamics, personalities of all ages. All of this is clearly demonstrated in this book. I recommend it and I will carefully study her other works.

Note: Please scroll down to load more books!!!

Audiobookss audio player

Hi everyone, please be noticed that the Audio player doesn't play next track on IOS version < 15.6. If you are facing that issue, just upgrade your IOS to version 15.6 to fix it. Enjoy!

Paused...
0.75 Speed
Normal Speed
1.25 Speed
1.5 Speed
-60s
-30s
-15s
+15s
+30s
+60s
    Close Ads [X]